July 18, 2018

CoE Site Index  |  


Kessler Group Alumni

Postdocs/Visiting Scientists

  • Dr. Rafael Quirino, Postdoctoral Research Associate, 2011-2012
  • Dr. Liangfeng (Tom) Sun, Postdoctoral Research Associate, 2011
  • Dr. Prashanth Badrinarayanan, Postdoctoral Research Associate and Adjunct Asst Prof., 2007-2011
  • Dr. Eddie Stefanescu, Postdoctoral Research Associate, 2009-2010
  • Dr. Xia Sheng, Postdoctoral Research Associate, 2008-2010
  • Prof. Sungho Yoon, Visiting Professor, 2008-2009 (Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Korea)
  • Jinoh Oh, Visiting Scientist, 2008 (Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Korea)
  • Gilhyung Lee, Visiting Scientist, 2008(Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Korea)
  • Young Eun Hwang, Visiting Scientist, 2008(Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Korea)
  • Fen Chao, Visiting Scientist, 2007-2008, Fellow of the China Scholarship Council (CSC), (Northwestern Polytechnical University, Xi’an, China)
  • Prof. Jong Keun Lee, Visiting Professor, 2006 (Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Korea)
  • Xing Liu, Visiting Scientist, 2006 (Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Korea)

Ph.D. Students

  • Tim Maldin, Ph.D. 2011, “Self-healing polymers – the importance of choosing an adequate healing monomer, and the olefin metathesis polymerization of agricultural oils”
  • Rafael Quirino, Ph.D. 2011, “Natural oil-based composites reinforced with natural fillers, and conjugation/isomerization of carbon-carbon double bonds.”
  • Ying Xia, Ph.D. 2011, “Biorenewable polymeric materials from vegetable oils”
  • Wonje Jeong, Ph. D. 2009, “ROMP-based polymer composites and biorenewable rubbers”
  • Xia Sheng, Ph. D. 2008, “Polymer nanocomposites for high-temperature composite repair” –Winner of an Iowa State Research Excellence Award
  • Will Goertzen, Ph. D. 2007, “Thermosetting polymer-matrix composites for structural repair applications”–NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Awardee
  • Jeff Wilson, Ph.D., 2006, “Experimental and Analytical Characterization of a Woven Carbon Composite Bonded to Steel Pipes for Structural Reinforcement” (University of Tulsa)

M.S. Students

  • Keke Chen, M.S. 2012, “Bio-renewable Fibers Extracted from Lignin/Polylactide (PLA) Blend”
  • Ricky Hardis, M.S. 2012, “Cure Kinetics Characterization and Monitoring of an Epoxy Resin for Thick Composite Structures”
  • Diana Gottschalk, M.S. 2011, “Use of Polydicyclopentadiene as a Matrix in Composite Structural Capacitors”
  • Wilber Lio, M.S. 2009, “Evaluation of Bisphenol E Cyanate Ester for the Resin-injection Repair of Advanced Composites”
  • Katherine Lawler, M.S. 2009, “Viscosity of Aqueous and Cyanate Ester Suspensions Containing Alumina Nanoparticles”
  • Louis Charles, M.S. 2008, “Self-Healing of Impact-Damaged Composites”–NDSE Graduate Research Fellowship Awardee
  • Nate Bernklau, MS, 2005, “Development of Resin Transfer Molding Techniques Using Catalyzed Reinforcement” (Univ. of Tulsa)
  • Shanti Kumar Vemuri, MS, 2005, “Fracture Analysis of Width-Tapered Double Cantilever Beam Specimen Using Finite Element Analysis” (Univ. of Tulsa)
  • Gabriel Larin, 2005, “Autonomic Healing of Damage in Polymer Matrix Composites” (Univ. of Tulsa)
  • Syed Ahmed, MS, 2004, “Resin Transfer Molding with Dicyclopentadiene and Catalyzed Reinforcement” (Univ. of Tulsa)
  • Roja Palakodeti, MS, 2004, “Characterization of Electroactive Polymer Actuators (Artificial Muscles)” (Univ. of Tulsa)
  • Joshua Duell, MS, 2004, “Characterization and FEA of a Carbon Composite Overwrap Repair System” (Univ. of Tulsa)

Undergraduate Research Assistants

  • Ryan Hall, George Washington Carver Scholar, Ronald E. McNair Postbaccalaureate Achievement Program (2012-present).
  • Riley Hanus, Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internships (SULI) program (Summer 2010, 2012), Undergraduate Research Assistant (URA) (2010-2012).
  • Shea Brown, Hua Shu, & Alexzondra Hurns – Summer Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) Program for Interdisciplinary Research and Education and Emerging Interface Technologies (Summer 2012).
  • Ted Angus, NSF REU (Summer 2012).
  • Mitch Rock, URA (2009-2012).
  • Danielle Carda, URA (2011-2012).
  • Zachariah Rueger, NSF REU (2011), URA (2012).
  • Leo Salat, URA (2011-2012).
  • Kelsey Larson, Iowa State Program for Women in Science and Engineering (PWSE) Intern (Summer 2010), URA (2010-2012).
  • Teresa Goeddel, URA (2010-2012).
  • Thilina Weerasekera, URA (Spring 2010).
  • Mark Rogalski, NSF REU Research Assistant (Summer 2010), SULI program (Summer 2011), URA (2009-2012).
  • Kelly Brianna Dowdy, NSF REU Research Assistant (Summer 2009).
  • Jonathan Henson, NSF REU Research Assistant (Summer 2009).
  • Emily Hoffman, PWSE Intern (Summer 2009).
  • Joshua Leonard, Iowa Space Grant Consortium URA (2008-Present).
  • Brian A. Richard, Iowa Space Grant Consortium URA (2008-2010).
  • Elease McLaurin, PWSE Intern (summer 2008) and Petroleum Research Fund “Supplement for Underrepresented Minority Research (SUMR) (summer 2008).
  • Cory Sents, URA (2007-2009) and NSF REU (summer 2008).
  • Dan Putnam, URA (2006-2008).
  • Ben Mac Murray, Freshman Honors Research Program (2006), URA (2006-2009).
  • Wilber Lio, URA, 2007.
  • Brian Banker, Iowa Space Grant Consortium URA (2007).
  • Karen Haman, PWSE Intern (summer 2007); SULI Intern (SULI) (summer 2008).
  • Serap Aksu (with M. Akinc), (visiting student, Sabanci University, Turkey), (summer 2007).
  • Nicholas Martinez, URA (summer 2007).
  • Rick Rainy, AerE Senior Research Project (AerE 492) URA (2007).
  • Charlotte Mok, PWSE Intern (summer 2006).
  • Nathan Marzen, URA (2006-2007).